Fire Track: Population II – “Beau baptême”

Population II makes their long-awaited return with the announcement of their newest LP, Électrons libres du québec, due October 6th via Bonsound (marking the 100th album to be released by the Montreal-based label).

Électrons libres du québec, Population II’s sophomore album, is more straightforward than À la Ô Terre, its predecessor released on Castle Face Records back in 2020. On this new effort (produced by Emmanuel Éthier) the three-piece band — made up of singer/drummer Pierre-Luc Gratton, guitarist/keyboardist Tristan Lacombe, and bassist Sébastien Provençal — delivers a heavy, psychedelic rock-infused sound with feverish funk rhythms, a hint of jazz philosophy, a burst of early punk energy, and a love of minor scales that harkens back to the roots of heavy metal. With Électrons libres du québec, Population II once again showcases their sharp sense of songcraft and an undeniable expertise of their instruments. This is an album that effortlessly maintains a balance between challenging compositions and creating instantly memorable melodies.

You can order the album HERE.